Categories: Cricket News
| On Updated : Dec 28, 2019 3:27 PM IST

BCCI President Sourav Ganguly gives update on new selectors

BCCI President Sourav Ganguly has made it clear that there will be no extension for the current chairman of Selectors MSK Prasad and Gagan Khoda.

End of a 5-year tenure

The present Chairman of selector MSK Prasad and Gagan Khoda joined the selection committee in 2015 where they replaced Sandeep Patil & co. They were on a contract for a period of 5 years which is set to end by this year. The other remaining selectors namely Jatin Parajpe, Devag Gandhi, and Sarandeep Singh will continue their tenure as they have a year left in their 5 year period since they were appointed only in 2016.

MSK Prasad’s tenure

When MSK Prasad came into the picture, India was not in a very good position in tests. But within 2 years of his tenure, he brought India to No:1 ranking in tests and still going strong. It was under him when India developed a good crop of fast bowlers and turned into a relentless bowling attack.

Though his achievements in Red ball cricket stands tall, his decisions and selections in Limited overs were largely criticized and questioned by Cricket fans and experts around India. India never won an ICC cup under him even after making semi Finals and Finals in each of the ICC events that have happened since 2015.

No Proper No.4, Success of Kulcha

MSK Prasad was heavily criticized for not grooming a proper No.4 bat after Yuvraj Singh and it turned out to be a black mark in his tenure. He backed wrist spinners to come good and brought the culture of KulCha(Kuldeep Yadav and Yuzvendra Chahal) in the Indian team. India dominated in limited-overs cricket around the world. Winning series in Australia, South Africa, New Zealand away from home was one of the major highlights of his tenure. Another historic moment that happened in his tenure was India winning the test series in Australia.

Two New Selectors

MSK Prasad has selected a two separate 15 member squad for the upcoming Sri Lankan and the Australian series in-home, in what could be his last selection as the Chairman of Selector for India.

Sourav Ganguly revealed in a recent press meet that MSK Prasad’ tenure will not be extended and along with him,  Gagan Khoda also will end his tenure as both of them have completed their 5-year tenure. So one can expect a new chairman of a selector to be announced by CAC(Cricket Advisory Committee) sooner rather than later.

Balaji @deep_extracover

Here to tell you some beautiful and happening stories that's happening around the purest form of sport-Cricket.