Categories: Grand League
| On Updated : Apr 26, 2019 12:17 PM IST

CSK vs MI Dream11 Grand League Team, Team News: IPL 2019

CSK vs MI Dream11 Grand League Team, Team News: IPL 2019

The reigning and three-time champions Chennai Super Kings will welcome Mumbai Indians for the second leg of IPL ‘El-Classico’ which will be played at the MA Chidambaram Stadium in Chennai. In every edition of the IPL, the battle between both these teams is always over the moon. The intensity, the pressure, the build-up everything is always at a supreme high.

All this is exemplary for sure and the buzz these two teams get is all worth deserving having said both are three-time champions of the toughest T20 franchise league around the globe. Now, we turn our attention on the current season and the current position of both these teams. The reigning champions Chennai Super Kings are already through to the next stage after securing 16 points from 8 wins to their name and with the numero-uno position, whereas, Mumbai Indians are placed third with six wins from 10 games to their name.

The last meeting between the two sides took place at the Wankhede where the Mumbai Indians had the last laugh. They won comfortably by a margin of 37 runs, courtesy match winning knocks from Surya Kumar Yadav (59 off 43) and Hardik Pandya who blasted 25 off just 8 deliveries lower down the order.


Overall these two have squared 27 times against each other. Mumbai Indians have had the better of Chennai as they exceed them with 15 wins to 12.

Here in this article, we have come up with some Grand League Teams depending on the current scenarios and match situations to help you win big with minimal investments.

When and Where:

CSK vs MI, Indian Premier League

MA Chidambaram Stadium, Chennai

26th April 2019, 08:00 PM IST

Pitch report:

The spin-friendly surface of Chepauk will definitely aid the slow bowlers and batsmen will find it tricky to score runs. This could well be a low-scoring affair.

Venue Stats: (In IPL)

Total Matches: 54

Average first innings score: 163

Average second innings score: 148

Highest total recorded: 246/5 (20 Ov) by CSK vs RR

Lowest total recorded: 70/10 (17.1 Ov) by RCB vs CSK

Highest score chased: 208/5 (20 Ov) by CSK vs RCB

Lowest score defended: 134/6 (20 Ov) by CSK vs KKR

Last five matches: (last to recent)

CSK: W, W, L, L, W

MI: W, L, W, W, L

Head to Head

Total: 27

CSK: 12 wins

MI: 15 wins

Team news

  • MS Dhoni the CSK skipper will not feature in this contest.
  • Chennai won’t go for any changes in their squad after a brilliant win over SRH.
  • Mumbai Indians have replaced injured Alzarri Joseph with Proteas left-arm medium pacer Beurean Hendricks for the rest of the season.
  • Mumbai are coming into this game after a loss to their name in the previous encounter against Rajasthan Royals.


Chennai Super Kings: M.S. Dhoni (c), Scott Kuggeleijn, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Faf du Plessis, Ravindra Jadeja, Dwayne Bravo, KM Asif, Murali Vijay, Suresh Raina, Ambati Rayudu, Deepak Chahar, Shane Watson, Kedar Jadhav, Mitchell Santner, Shardul Thakur, Sam Billings, Imran Tahir, N Jagadeesan, Dhruv Shorey, Harbhajan Singh, Mohit Sharma, Chaitanya Bishnoi.

Mumbai Indians: Rohit Sharma (c), Anmolpreet Singh, Hardik Pandya, Ishan Kishan, Ben Cutting, Lasith Malinga, Jayant Yadav, Pankaj Jaiswal, Yuvraj Singh, Suryakumar Yadav, Evin Lewis, Jasprit Bumrah, Beurean Hendricks, Aditya Tare, Jason Behrendorff, Kieron Pollard, Anukul Roy, Quinton de Kock, Rahul Chahar, Krunal Pandya, Mitchell McClenaghan, Mayank Markande, Barinder Sran, Siddhesh Lad, Rasikh Salam.

Probable Playing 11

Chennai Super Kings: Suresh Raina, Harbhajan Singh, Kedar Jadhav, N jagadeessan, Faf du Plessis, Ambati Rayudu, Ravindra Jadeja, Shane Watson, Deepak Chahar, Dwayne Bravo, Imran Tahir.

Mumbai Indians: Suryakumar Yadav, Ishan Kishan, Ben Cutting, Mayank Markande, Krunal Pandya, Hardik Pandya, Lasith Malinga, Rohit Sharma, Quinton de Kock, Rahul Chahar, Jasprit Bumrah.

CSK vs MI Dream11 Grand League Teams:

#1: The home advantage

The Chennai Super Kings are yet to be defeated this season at home. They have a 1005 winning rate at the Chepauk and will look to continue the same.

Wicket-keeper: Quinton de Kock

Batsmen: Rohit Sharma, Suresh Raina, Shane Watson, Ambati Rayudu, Faf du Plessis

All-rounders: Ravindra Jadeja, Hardik Pandya

Bowlers: Deepak Chahar, Lasith Malinga, Imran Tahir

Captain/Vice-captain here: Imran Tahir, Shane Watson, A Rayudu, Faf du Plessis

#2: Chepauk’s spin-friendly surface

Both teams have a quality spin attack in their arsenal and the surface at Chepauk has always assisted the spinners. Here is a team which will mainly focus on the spin strength of both these sides.

Wicket-keeper: MS Dhoni

Batsmen: Rohit Sharma, Suryakumar Yadav, Shane Watson, Faf du Plessis

All-rounders: Ravindra Jadeja, Krunal Pandya, Dwayne Bravo

Bowlers: Rahul Chahar, Harbhajan Singh, Imran Tahir

Captain/Vice-captain here: Imran Tahir, Harbhajan Singh, Ravindra Jadeja, Krunal Pandya

#3: Mumbai’s core strength

Mumbai’s core strength relies on their death bowling and the fact that they have the overall advantage over CSK in head-to-head ties makes them a composite group for sure.

Wicket-keeper: Q de Kock

Batsmen: Suryakumar Yadav, Ishan Kishan, Shane Watson, faf du Plessis

All-rounders: Hardik Pandya, Krunal Pandya

Bowlers: Lasith Malinga, Imran Tahir, Deepak Chahar, Jasprit Bumrah

Captain/Vice-captain here: Suryakumar Yadav, Quinton de Kock, Hardik Pandya, Jasprit Bumrah

#4: Less chosen players from fantasy 11

Wicket-keeper: MS Dhoni

Batsmen: Ambati Rayudu, Faf du Plessis, Kedar Jadhav, Ishan Kishan

All-rounders: Krunal Pandya, Dwayne Bravo

Bowlers: Lasith Malinga, Rahul Chahar, Harbhajan Singh, Deepak Chahar

Captain/Vice-captain here: Dwayne Bravo, MS Dhoni, Faf du Plessis, Ambati Rayudu, K Pandya

Key players:

Chennai Super Kings:

  • Shane Watson
  • Dwayne Bravo
  • Imran Tahir
  • MS Dhoni
  • Harbhajan Singh

Mumbai Indians:

  • Quinton de Kock
  • Hardik Pandya
  • Rohit Sharma
  • Lasith Malinga
  • Jasprit Bumrah


A 90's born who has witnessed Sachin becoming "The God", Dhoni becoming "The only Captain to have won all the ICC trophies" and Kohli turning into a "run machine". Cricket is something I am crazy for and I try to deliver the best and true I can in my every writing.