Categories: Cricket News
| On 2 months ago

IPL 2020 to begin on March 29; No changes in timings

The 13th edition of the Indian Premier League, IPL 2020 is going to start on March 29. The opening ceremony will be held on March 28. There was a rule in IPL that the opening match of every edition of IPL is played at the home ground of the defending champions of the last year. Also, this year is no exception.

The first match of the IPL 2020 will be played at the home ground of the former champions. In the last edition of the IPL (IPL 2019), Mumbai Indians were the defending champions. They beat Chennai Super Kings in the final match of the last year’s IPL. So, according to IPL rules, the opening match will be played at Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai on March 29. Two finalists of the previous edition of IPL Chennai Super Kings & Mumbai Indians will play the first match of this year’s IPL.

IPL 2020 Teams & most valuable players

A total of 60 matches will be played in this year’s IPL. Like every year, 8 teams are participating in this year’s IPL also. The names of teams are given below.

1) Chennai Super Kings

2) Mumbai Indians

3) Kolkata Knight Riders

4) Rajasthan Royals

5) Sunrisers Hyderabad

6) Royal Challengers Bangalore

7) Delhi Capitals

8) Kings XI Punjab

Play fantasy cricket at Playone and win daily cash. Read all the terms and conditions before joining contests.

The auction of IPL 2020 was held at Kolkata on December 19. Pat Cummins, who is an Australian fast bowler, became the most expensive player in IPL 2020. Kolkata Knight Riders bought him for Rs. 15.5 crore this year.

Also Chris Morris, Glenn Maxwell, Sheldon Cottrell are other expensive players this year. Some well-known cricketers remain unsold this year also.

IPL 2020 total matches & new features

There will be a total 56 matches in league table out of 60 matches and the rest 4 will be playoff matches. In League table, one match will be played in most of the days, some days there will be two matches. In the meeting of IPL Governing Council, BCCI President Sourav Ganguly decided that the timing of the IPL matches will remain unchanged. The timing of the matches will be 4 pm & 8 pm onwards. The final match will be played at Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai on May 24, 2020.

In this season of IPL, some team had released their some players & bought new player to their own. Kolkata Knight Riders had released Robin Uthappa, PiyushChawla& Chris Lynn. Mumbai Indians bought Chris Lynn & Chennai Super Kings bought PiyushChawla this year. The most expensive Indian player of this season Indian Premier League is Piyush Chawla. CSK bought him for 6.75 crores.

Comparison with IPL 2019

In IPL 2019, Mumbai Indians win IPL title for 4th time. Mumbai Indians captain Rohit Sharma thanked all of the players of his team & all supporters for being with them. MI owner Neeta Ambani was also delighted for the glorious victory of her team in the final match of IPL 2019. She also thanked her team-mates for the success of her team. On the other hand, Chennai Super Kings is another successful team in IPL history.

Out of 12 IPL season, CSK played 10 & out of these 10 seasons, CSK won the IPL title 3 times, but they are the only team who played the most number of IPL Finals. Out of their 10 seasons, CSK played 8 IPL Finals. In the year 2016 & 2017, they were suspended from the IPL tournament. In the year 2018, they came back again in the IPL clash & became the defending champions of the year. But in the last season, they lose in the final match in the battle against Mumbai Indians.

This year, CSK is also hoping to win the IPL title like other teams. Mumbai Indians is not also far behind. They already told that they will try their best to win the title of this year’s IPL. Apart from MI & CSK, Others teams also optimistic about their success.

Who will win the IPL title of this year, we have to wait till May 24 so far.