Categories: Cricket News
| On 2 months ago

Team India’s Predicted XI for 1st ODI vs New Zealand

The action shifts to the 50 over format for India after demolishing the Kiwis in the shortest format of the game. India created history by whitewashing the Kiwis 5-0 in the T20I format, and they will be hoping to replicate the same in the 50 over format as well.
Here we look at the predicted XI for the 1st ODI

Two debutants to open the innings
India will see a new opening pair in Mayank Agarwal and Prithvi Shaw as both of their first choice openers Rohit Sharma and Shikhar Dhawan have been ruled out due to injuries. The skipper himself confirmed on the eve of the 1st ODI stating that Prithvi Shaw will make his debut and open the innings along with the back up opener Mayank Agarwal. Mayank Agarwal was called as a last minute replacement for the vice captain Rohit Sharma

Mystery around Pant continues
KL Rahul who has been given the new role of a proper middle order batsman will continue to play in that position for this series as well. The no:4 spot will be taken by Shreyas Iyer as he has made that position his own for quite sometime now. India will have to decide their no:6 batsman as there are quite a lot of options available for India. One of Manish Pandey, Kedar Jadhav and Shivam Dube might take that place.

Ravindra Jadeja-The lone all-rounder
The southpaw will be the lone all-rounder for India and will bridge the gap between the batsmen and the tail enders. Ravindra Jadeja was impressive in the recently concluded T20I series and troubled the Blackcaps big time.

Bumrah to lead the bowling attack
India will be at their full strength in the bowling department as all their first choice bowlers are injury free and will be raring to go in the 1st ODI. The pace attack will be lead by the #1 bowler in the world Bumrah and has the latest tormentor in Shami along with the lanky speedster Saini. The chinaman Kuldeep Yadav will look after the spin department.

Predicted XI
1. Mayank Agarwal
2. Prithvi Shaw
3. Virat Kohi
4. Shreyas Iyer
5. KL Rahul
6. Kedar Jadhav/Manish Pandey
7. Ravindra Jadeja
8. Mohammad Shami
9. Kuldeep Yadav
10. Navdeep Saini
11. Jasprit Bumrah

Hamilton will host the 1st ODI on Wednesday.


Here to tell you some beautiful and happening stories that's happening around the purest form of sport-Cricket.