Cricket News
| On 3 weeks ago

Strongest New Zealand Playing 11 for T20 World Cup 2024

By Staff Writer

New Zealand Cricket has revealed its robust playing XI for the eagerly anticipated T20 World Cup 2024, with Kane Williamson continuing to lead the charge as captain. The lineup boasts a perfect blend of seasoned veterans and emerging talents, promising an exciting campaign ahead.

At the forefront of the squad is the inclusion of Matt Henry, poised to make his T20 World Cup debut after impressing with his stellar performances, particularly in the IPL for Lucknow Super Giants. Henry’s resurgence in form adds depth to the pace attack, alongside the experienced duo of Trent Boult and Tim Southee.

The batting lineup is anchored by the dynamic Finn Allen, who is expected to provide explosive starts at the top of the order. Devon Conway, despite recovering from a thumb injury, is set to don the wicketkeeping gloves and bolster the middle order alongside the reliable Kane Williamson.

All-rounders Jimmy Neesham and Daryl Mitchell bring versatility to the squad with their adept pace-bowling skills, while Glenn Phillips, Mark Chapman, and the promising Rachin Ravindra offer spin options in conditions conducive to slower bowling.

The spin department is further reinforced by the reunion of Mitchell Santner and Ish Sodhi, adding depth and variety to New Zealand’s bowling arsenal.

Exciting prospects like Rachin Ravindra, set to make his T20 World Cup debut, underscore the team’s commitment to nurturing young talent. With a coaching staff led by Luke Ronchi and Jacob Oram, supported by assistant coach James Foster focusing on fielding, New Zealand is poised for a strong showing in the tournament.

The squad is scheduled to depart for the tournament on May 23, with their opening match against Afghanistan slated for June 7 in Guyana. As anticipation mounts for the T20 World Cup, New Zealand’s playing XI radiates confidence and skill, primed to make a significant impact on the global stage.

New Zealand Playing 11 for T20 World Cup 2024

1. Finn Allen
2. Devon Conway
3. Kane Williamson (Captain)
4. Daryl Mitchell
5. Glenn Phillips
6. Mark Chapman
7. Mitchell Santner
8. Trent Boult
9. Ish Sodhi
10. Tim Southee
11. Lockie Ferguson

New Zealand Squad for T20 World Cup 2024

Kane Williamson (c), Finn Allen, Trent Boult, Michael Bracewell, Mark Chapman, Devon Conway, Lockie Ferguson, Matt Henry, Daryl Mitchell, Jimmy Neesham, Glenn Phillips, Rachin Ravindra, Mitchell Santner, Ish Sodhi, Tim Southee


Strongest India Playing 11 for T20 World Cup 2024

Strongest South Africa Playing 11 for T20 World Cup 2024

Strongest England Playing 11 for T20 World Cup 2024

Staff Writer