Cricket News
| On 3 weeks ago

Strongest South Africa Playing 11 for T20 World Cup 2024

By Staff Writer

South Africa has laid the groundwork for the forthcoming T20 World Cup by revealing their squad, led by the dynamic Aiden Markram, for the tournament set to unfold in the West Indies and the USA. The squad introduces two uncapped players, batter Ryan Rickelton and pacer Ottniel Baartman, both of whom have showcased stellar performances in domestic cricket, earning them well-deserved spots in the lineup.

Rickelton emerges as a standout after his exceptional showing in the SA20, amassing an impressive 530 runs at an outstanding average of 58.88 for MI Cape Town, thus earning his maiden international call-up. Baartman’s commendable performance, claiming 18 wickets in eight matches for two-time champions Sunrisers Eastern Cape, solidifies his place in the squad.

While the squad brims with talent, it notably excludes seasoned campaigners like Temba Bavuma, Rilee Rossouw, and Wayne Parnell, who featured prominently in the previous T20 World Cup in 2022. Notable absentee Rassie van der Dussen, recovering from a broken finger, adds to the list of exclusions. Lungi Ngidi, part of the 2022 squad, and Nandre Burger have been designated as traveling reserves for the tournament.

The pace battery will be spearheaded by the formidable duo of Kagiso Rabada and Anrich Nortje, with the latter returning to international action after a nine-month hiatus. Supporting them are Marco Jansen, Gerald Coetzee, and Baartman, providing depth and options in the fast-bowling department. The spin contingent, led by Keshav Maharaj and Tabraiz Shamsi, receives additional support from Bjorn Fortuin, while Markram and Tristan Stubbs add versatility with their spin options.

South Africa’s batting arsenal boasts a formidable lineup, featuring stalwarts like Quinton de Kock, Reeza Hendricks, Heinrich Klaasen, David Miller, and Stubbs, alongside the leadership prowess of Markram and the promising talents of Rickelton.

Head coach Rob Walter acknowledges the challenge of squad selection amidst stiff competition but expresses confidence in the team’s strength and potential for success in the tournament.

South Africa will commence their T20 World Cup campaign against Sri Lanka on June 3 in New York, followed by encounters against the Netherlands, Bangladesh, and Nepal in Group D. Prior to the World Cup, they will engage in a three-match T20I series against West Indies, providing opportunities for players not involved in the IPL to exhibit their prowess.

As anticipation mounts for the T20 World Cup, South Africa’s lineup promises a potent blend of experience and emerging talent, poised to make waves on the global stage.

South Africa Playing 11 for T20 World Cup 2024

1. Quinton de Kock
2. Reeza Hendricks
3. Aiden Markram
4. Heinrich Klaasen
5. Tristan Stubbs
6. David Miller
7. Marco Jansen
8. Keshav Maharaj
9. Gerald Coetzee
10. Kagiso Rabada
11. Tabraiz Shamsi


South Africa T20 World Cup 2024 Squad

Aiden Markram (Captain)
Ottniel Baartman
Gerald Coetzee
Quinton de Kock
Bjorn Fortuin
Reeza Hendricks
Marco Jansen
Heinrich Klaasen
Keshav Maharaj
David Miller
Anrich Nortje
Kagiso Rabada
Ryan Rickelton
Tabraiz Shamsi
Tristan Stubbs



Strongest India Playing 11 for T20 World Cup 2024

Strongest New Zealand Playing 11 for T20 World Cup 2024

Strongest England Playing 11 for T20 World Cup 2024

Staff Writer